Car Seat Help and AnswersWhat is Ohio’s Car Seat Law?

  • From birth to age 8, a child must be in a car seat appropriate for their age, unless the child is at least 4’9” tall
  • The car seat must adhere to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and must be properly used
  • Children ages 8-15 must be in a car seat or booster seat, or must use a seatbelt
  • All vehicles must be equipped with seatbelts
  • The fine for noncompliance is $25 for a first-time offense, with possible jail time for a second offense

Ohio Buckles Buckeyes

Ohio law requires that the fine money from violations of child restraint law be used for occupant protection education and to provide car seats to families who can't afford them. The Ohio Buckles Buckeyes program is overseen by The Ohio Department of Health. Each county receives a set number of car seats at intervals throughout the year. These seats are distributed to children participating in the WIC program, or who are income-eligible for WIC.

Every three years, a family can receive one seat per child. To receive the seat, the parent or guardian must attend an educational session. A small donation is requested for the car seat.

How do I sign up to receive a car seat?
Call the Early Childhood Resource Center at (877) 691-8521 to sign up for a class.

How long is the education session/class?
The class lasts for 1.5 hours.

Do I have to bring my child?
It is best if you do, as we fit the child into their car seat.

How much is the donation for a car seat?
We ask for $15, payable the day of the class.