phone_android Toll-free at 1-877-691-8521 Serving Stark, Summit, Medina, Portage, Trumbull and Mahoning Counties
  1. Early Childhood Resource Center
  3. Child Development Associate Classes

The Child Development Associate (CDA) Credential, administered by the Council for Professional Recognition in Washington, DC, is a nationally recognized credential that focuses on the skills of early care and education professionals. Built around six core competencies, CDA Candidates earn 120 clock hours of training in eight subject areas, compile a Professional Portfolio, collect questionnaires from parents, and are observed caring for children in a group setting by a Professional Development Specialist. For more information on the CDA, click here.

CDA Credential Training

CDA Classes are designed to meet the requirements of the Council for Professional Recognition’s National Credentialing Program. It is recommended that participants receive a consultation prior to starting classes. Classes have been organized in eight courses.  Each course provides 15 hours of professional development in one of the required subject areas.  Courses must be taken in their entirety, individual classes are not permitted.  Courses can be taken in any order. 

A nonrefundable $100 registration fee is due at the time of registration to cover book and material fees.  New courses begin in May/June 2019 in Trumbull, Stark and Summit. Fall classes registration is only open for Medina County at this time. To register, download the course schedule and registration form at a location near you:

You may also call or come to the ECRC to fill out a form.  Payment for each course is due prior to the beginning of the course. Scholarships are available for Step Up to Quality rated programs OR those working on becoming rated.

CDA Credential Renewal                                                                                                                                                 A CDA Credential is valid for three years, at which time a candidate can complete a renewal process. Renewal is then required every three years. Renewal requirements include 45 hours of training, membership in a professional organization, current first aid certification, letter of recommendation, and recent work experience.  The CDA Council is currently offering an amnesty program for anyone who has let their CDA lapse.

For more information about the CDA Credential, training, or renewal, please contact Tina Lemon at 330-491-3272 Ext. 5074.  

Follow us:
© 2019 Early Childhood Resource Center. All rights reserved.
  1. Site map
A Ministry of the Sisters of Charity Health System